You are here: Home News You Can Use Events India NGO Awards 2014-15

India NGO Awards 2014-15

The India NGO Awards were instituted by the Resource Alliance in 2006. Now in its 9th year the 2014/15 Awards are jointly funded by the EdelGive Foundation and The Rockefeller Foundation and are organised by the Resource Alliance.
When Jan 27, 2015 11:55 AM to
Feb 28, 2015 12:30 PM
Contact Name
Contact Phone +91-11-41354766
Add event to calendar vCal

The Awards aim to advance the country’s non-profit sector by promoting financial and organisational sustainability and strengthening community support of civil society and seek to:
• Promote good standards and practices in resource mobilisation, accountability and transparency
• Create examples and inspiration for other non-profit organisations and promote cross-regional learning
• Promote the overall credibility of the non-profit sector for long term sustainability.

Eligibility Criteria:
• All organisations registered in India as Trusts, Societies and Section 8 companies that have been working for a minimum of three years on social and environmental transformation are eligible to enter
• Organisations that propagate political or religious doctrines are excluded from participation
• NGOs from all over India are invited to enter the competition
• National Award Winners from the last two years are not eligible to apply
• Previous finalists are eligible to apply.

NGOs can apply under one of three categories, based on their annual income for 2013/14:
1. Small: Annual budget of under Rs 1 crore
2. Medium: Annual budget between Rs 1 and 5 crore
3. Large: Annual budget over Rs 5 crore

Criteria for Selection:
Organisations will be evaluated on:
• Effective and sustainable mobilisation of resources in support of programme and project work, including support from local communities
• Demonstration of efficient management of financial and human resources, good governance practices, transparency and accountability, and effective communication
• The impact of their work in bringing about tangible benefits to their target communities
• Innovative practices within programme and project activities, their implementation and measures to ensure sustainability
• Gender sensitivity in the planning, implementation and impact of the programme/ initiative.
• Sharing of good practices and good policies with other NGOs

• National Winners : Three national winners will receive a trophy and cash prize of INR 4,00,000/- to be used to strengthen their internal systems and processes.
• Rising Star Awards : The jury can decide based on their discretion up to two Rising Stars who will receive a trophy and cash prize of INR 2,50,000/- to be used to strengthen their internal systems and processes. The Rising Star Award
has been introduced to acknowledge the huge potential demonstrated by an entrant in developing their internal capacity, sustaining growth and increasing their impact. Nominated by the Resource Alliance panel of assessors and jury, this Award will recognise an organisation that have demonstrated, above all other entrants, the greatest potential to achieve good governance, effective programme impact, exemplary human resources practices, sustainable
resource mobilisation and transparent financial management. Though the assessors may recommend, the jury will give preference to an organisation which works on the issue of women’s empowerment.

New Award Introduced:
• Big Idea, Small Budget : The big idea, small budget award winner will receive a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000/- each. Big Idea, Small Budget category is for entries from small and medium organisations (under 5 crore annual budget) which have in the past 12-24 months introduced a successful new fundraising idea or stream of revenue on a small budget.

Attractive Benefits:

• Future Leaders Programme 2015: 30 shortlisted organisations will be given an opportunity to compete in Future Leaders Programme 2015 – an exclusive 5 day residential course “Leadership Essentials” at Oxford University. The winner of this programme will be taught by a faculty of professors from prestigious learning institutions such as the London Business School and is worth Rs 5 Lakhs. Mehar Baba Charitable Trust was the winner of the India 2014 Future

Leadership Bursary:
• Participation in workshops on resource mobilisation, communication, governance and financial management will be organised across the country
• All finalists will be profiled in a casebook, which is disseminated at the Awards ceremony and through the Resource Alliance website
• Finalists will be offered 2 days of one-to-one mentoring to strengthen their internal systems and processes.
• Fundraisers from small and medium finalist will be offered part bursary to participate in International Workshop on Resource Mobilisation (Asia) 2015 being held at Delhi from 24-27 August, 2015.
• Three applicants from small and medium NGOs will be offered above bursarys.

Selection Process:
• Stage 1: Internal sifting of entries – Entry forms are scrutinised and checked for all the requested documents (06 March 2015)
• Stage 2: First level shortlist – Independent Assessors and Grant Thornton review completed entries and shortlist organisations for the next level review (07 April 2015)
• Stage 3: Second level shortlist – Organisations selected in first level shortlisting are requested to submit a Statement of Support describing the role of innovation, scale, replicability, collaboration and impact of work in enrolling individual / other donors (20 April 2015).
• Stage 4: Site visits – Assessors will evaluate the statement of support and further shortlist the top 30 organisations (10 in each category) for site visits assessment (05 June 2015). Grant Thornton will evaluate financial statements of shortlisted entries. As a result twelve finalists are shortlisted.
• Stage 5: Jury Round – The 12 shortlisted organisations are required to make a presentation to the Jury in New Delhi on 23 July 2015.
• Awards Ceremony – The names of the winners will be declared at the India NGO Awards Ceremony to be held on 24 July 2015 in New Delhi.

Please note: Organisations shortlisted in the second stage of the competition will be requested to send a “Statement

The deadline for submission of completed entry forms along with requested documents is 28 February 2015.
Entrants must submit completed entry forms, preferably by email, to

Alternatively entry forms may be submitted by post to:
India NGO Awards Team
The Resource Alliance
B-4/106, (Basement), Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110 029
Tel: 011-4135 4766

Organisations may contact the Resource Alliance India office for further information on the Awards and the entry form.

By submitting an entry to the India NGO Awards, NGOs agree that the information and materials provided may be used in future promotions of the Awards, or any other event or publication produced by the EdelGive Foundation, The Rockefeller Foundation and/or the Resource Alliance.

For more information and to download the entry form, please visit, or consult any of the Regional/State Partners.








Jobs at OneWorld










Global Goals 2030
OneWorld South Asia Group of Websites